I Have a Dream and All That Stuff

by samdelbiaggio

Colored Entrance

This weekend I helped a student study for a test on racial segregation in America during the 1950s.

I was reminded of how vital the visual record is to understanding the civil rights movement. Regrettably, I did not have a computer or my usual stack of books. As I we talked about what she had done in class, I asked if she knew of any images showing segregated water fountains. When I was greeted with somewhat of a blank stare I took out a piece of paper and wrote “Whites Only” and held it over a nearby water fountain.

The response was fantastic, she said, “That’s messed up! Thank goodness for King…I have a dream, and all that stuff.” Thank goodness, indeed!

When I did some research for this post I found the great website Remember Segregation. Rather than spoil what makes the site outstanding I suggest you go and see for yourself.

